The crabs of Biri

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last week I went to Biri Island for a workshop. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to visit the famous rock formations, because I recently burned my leg quite badly (second degree burn) on a motorbike exhaust and couldn’t risk getting it wet or infected by wading through the water to the rocks. I can’t wait for it to heal so I can get in the water and start snorkelling and diving!

I have no idea what species these crabs are, and can’t find a field guide to crabs of the Philippines on line, so if you recognise them, please let me know!

Seeing as I was so fascinated with their crustaceans, the villagers were kind enough to give me a bag of cooked blue swimmer crabs to take away. After an impromptu lesson in crab anatomy, and not without some slightly blue language, I managed to concoct a pretty decent crab, saffron and garlic pasta! Marasa!

Blue Swimmer Crabs

Comments

  1. I love crab, probably my favourite seafood. Were they tasty?

    • upswept says:

      Yes, delicious! Although the effort required to extract all the meat is a bit of a deterrent to eating crab on a regular basis!

Leave a comment